top of page

"Ozark Traveler"



Commissioned by Marcelo Lehninger and the Grand Rapids Symphony


2+pic, 2+eh, 2+bcl, 2+cbn – 4, 3, 3, 1 – timp+4 – str

"Ozark Traveler"
00:00 / 01:36

Ozark Traveler was written to celebrate American classical music of the 20th century. It was written as the opening piece for the Grand Rapids Symphony’s 2017-2018 season, which marked the 100th anniversary of Leonard Bernstein's birth. Bernstein's music is often filled with odd meters such as 7/8 and 5/4, which he used to create unique dance structures. Crosmer used these rhythmic patterns in a similar way, to show tribute to the great American composer.
The name draws inspiration from Aaron Copland's Appalachian Spring, instead referring to the Ozark mountain range of Crosmer's childhood home in Arkansas. The influence of American folk tunes in Copland's music seeps its way into this piece as well. Near the end of the piece, a section for strings and trumpet marked "Timeless Prayer" hails another American masterpiece, the Unanswered Question by Charles Ives.

bottom of page